Sebastian Durán (b 1989) began to study classical singing at the age of 15, alongside his cello- and harp studies in the town of Kristianstad in the south of Sweden.

At the age of 18 he moved to Stockholm to continue his vocal studies with baritone

Karl-Magnus Fredriksson, Court Singer at the Royal Opera in Stockholm.

After studying with him for two years he got accepted at the Malmö Academy of Music where he studied in 2010-2013 with Britta Johansson, Assistant Master in Vocal Performance.

After graduation from the Malmö Academy of Music Durán began to study at the University College of Opera in Stockholm (where he is currently in his final year) with Ulrika Tenstam, and Leif Lundberg.

During his years of singing, Sebastian has done several roles in both professional productions and school productions to great acclaim.

The most recent being the title role in Mozart’s Don Giovanni which he performed on tour with Malmö Opera, where he will return in the spring of 2016 to sing the role of Emanuel in composer Jonas Forsell’s newly written opera Drottningens Juvelsmycke.

In the summer of 2014 he sang The Wolf in composer Daniel Hjort’s newly written opera The Deepest Place, which toured around Denmark and southern Sweden.

His work also includes roles as the title role in Hamlet by Thomas, Marullo in Rigoletto, Melisso in Alcina, both Figaro and Fiorello in Il Barbiere di Siviglia, and Guglielmo in Così fan tutte.

He has also sung repertoire such as the baritone-solo in Carmina Burana by Orff and the bass-solo in Symfoni nr 9 ”An die Freude” by Beethoven .

Sebastian has received several scholarships from The Royal Swedish Academy of Music in the years of 2014, 2013 and 2012. He is also a recipient of the Family of John Andersson in Anderslövs Scholarship in 2015, the Joel Berglund scholarship in 2012 and the Culture-Scholarship from the Municipality of Kristianstad in 2009 and the Loa Falkman Scholarship in 2007.